Minutes - SCC—September 21, 2021

In Attendance:

- Garrett Andersen
- David Smith
- Jessica Hicks
- Brooke Gause

Excused:

- Jamis O'Brien
- Mary Hoyt

Conducting: Garrett Andersen

Introduction of Members:

New Members:

- Brooke Gause
- Chad Fowles
- David Smith

- Chad Fowles
- Alisha Young
- Libby Froerer

Mr. Andersen asked each member to introduce themselves, tell how long they have served and who they represent.

Mr. Andersen informed the council that 5 people from the community had submitted their names to him to be considered as council member. Mr. Andersen sent out a Google Form to the school community with all 5 names on it, 68 people voted and the top three names were chosen: Brooke Gause, Chad Fowles, and David Smith.

Videos:

Utah School and Institutional Trust System Overview

School Community Council Welcome 2020

What's New School LAND Trust Program 2021-2022

The videos were viewed – the information can be reviewed by clicking the above links. Council member were also informed and shown our School Community Council page on our school's website. They were also informed that they will receive a monthly newsletter from the state concerning School Community Council.

Chair Elections:

Motion: to appoint Mary Hoyt as Council chair made by David Smith- 2nd by Libby Froerer. Voting was unanimous.

Motion: to appoint Libby Froerer as Co-Chair made by Alisha Young- 2nd by David Smith. Voting was unanimous.

Responsibilities include: Conducting council meetings, attending district meetings, approving agendas, etc. For more information please visit SchoolLandTrust.org under heading "Leading School Community Councils".

Rules of Order and Procedure:

To promote ethical behavior and civil discourse each council member shall:

- Be on time to meetings
- Respect others opinions
- Meetings will be one hour long
- Guests who would like to comment may have five minutes, they must give prior notice to Amanda Shepherd, and there can only be two guests per School Community Council meeting.
- Comments made by visiting guest(s) must be related to School Trustlands, if they do not they may schedule a different time to meet with Mr. Andersen.
- The Chair and Co-Chair will be elected by the School Community Council
- Chair, Co-Chair and Facilitator will make agenda
- Yearly meeting with Chair, Co-Chair and Facilitator to make agenda and meeting calendar
- If a parent member is absent from two consecutive meetings, the chair will notify the
 member that if the member does not attend the next meeting, the council will consider the
 seat vacant and the remaining parent members will appoint a parent to fill the unexpired
 term.

The bolded item were either added or changed to Rules of Order and Prcedure and will be updated on our school's website.

Motion: to accept our Rules of Order and Procedure was made by David Smith- 2nd by Alisha Young. Voting was unanimous.

Communication with Community:

It was decided that members' names and email addresses would be posted on the school's website. There will also be a posting area for SCC information for members of the community without internet access. Copies of the minutes for each meeting will be made available in the office and posted on the school's website.

Meeting Schedule:

It was decided that meetings would be held on the third Wednesday that school is in session of each month from 11:45-12:45 in the Conference Room.

Superintendent's School Community Council:

• October 20th 4:00pm @ Payson High School

Next Meeting:

Wednesday, October 20th @ 11:45